Baby Doll – Hollie Overton

I was searching for a few reads to add to my TBR list on the Chapters Indigo website and Overton’s debut album popped up.  I read the preview of it and found that the book seemed similar to Room by Emma Donoghue or A Stolen Life by Jaycee Duggard (both of which I enjoyed reading) so I put it on hold at the library.  It wasn’t until I was chatting with my sister-in-law about book recommendations that I realized (after she pointed it out) that I seem to enjoy thrillers based on abductions.  Not that I support any of that, but for some reason, she’s right!  I seem to be drawn to books like that – I hope that doesn’t make me a sociopath!

What The Book Is About

This story is about sixteen year old Lily Riser who gets kidnapped.  She is held captive for eight long years where she eventually gives birth to his daughter, Sky.  Due to a huge mistake on her captor’s part, Lily manages to escape with Sky and they end up on the doorstep of Lily’s home.  The book explores Lily’s and Sky’s life after captivity – how she deals with the arrest of her captor, the media frenzy swirling around her, and most importantly, making up for lost time with her family, particularly her twin sister, Abby.

My Thoughts

This book is told in multiple points of view including Lily, Abby, Eve (her mother), and Rick (the captor).  I really enjoyed how the story would progress through each characters thoughts.  I’ve read books written through points of view that literally just say the same thing for a few chapters but this story would actually continue from chapter to chapter but just through another character.
 
The points of view that I enjoyed the most were Lily’s and Rick’s.  I felt that there were some points where Eve’s point of view was unnecessary because the book fundamentally concentrated on Lily’s and Abby’s relationship.  Rick was a sadistic and twisted character and the way his mind worked gave me chills down my spine.  Lily’s point of view (when she spoke about what happened during her captivity) was so sad but it was interesting to see how the book focused more on her adjustment to being back in society after being held captive for eight years.  Abby was a more feisty character but I learned throughout the novel that there was a lot of guilt associated with her sister’s kidnapping that never really resolves itself until a plot twist at the end of the book.  Again, Eve’s point of view added little value to the book as she was a pretty fragile character.
 
I found it really interesting that the book started off with Lily’s escape. Literally 2 pages in, Lily is escaping from her captor.  Usually when I read stories like this, they start with the actual abduction and go through the life of the character during captivity.  I enjoyed this style of writing and felt that it did a great job at gripping the reader from the onset.  Throughout the story, of course we learn more about Lily’s time in captivity but I really enjoyed that the focus was how she integrated back into her family and society.
 
Overton did a great job at keeping the reader on their toes making the book hard to put down (and contributing to me finishing this book in a day).  I thought that focusing the premise of the book on what happens after a kidnapping is what sets this book apart from others based on abductions (and perhaps shows that I’m not a sociopath like I may have lead my sister-in-law to believe) LOL!
 
Leave a Reply

