Plain Truth – Jodi Picoult

I’m going to preface this by saying that I love Jodi Picoult!  She’s a fantastic writer that knows how to keep a reader engaged (despite the fact that her books are often more than 350 pages!).  I was introduced to Jodi Picoult when I read My Sister’s Keeper.  Since then I’ve read a couple of other books by her like Nineteen Minutes and Salem Falls – both of which I loved!  Whenever I’m at the library, I always find myself looking to see if I can get my hands on any of her books.  I happened to find The Plain Truth during one of my visits and scooped it up immediately!

What The Book Is About

This book is about a young Amish girl named Katie Fisher who gives birth to a baby (out of wed lock) and is charged with her baby’s murder.  By mere circumstance, a high power Philadelphia lawyer, Ellie Hathaway, comes to visit her aunt (a shunned Amish woman) to get a break from the big city after winning a huge case and finds herself compelled to defend Katie and get to the bottom of the truth around what happened the night of the birth.   What results is a series of twists and turns as two polar opposite worlds must collide to help Katie.

My Thoughts

I finished this book by switching between reading the book and listening to the audiobook.  I think the premise of this book was interesting and while I thought this was a page turner there were some parts that I felt didn’t do anything to advance the story line or develop the characters.  I also regret having listened to the audiobook because I found Katie to be quite annoying especially during the conversations with Ellie and the investigators where she consistently denies giving birth to baby let alone killing it.    

This book captured me within the first two pages – I mean it opens with Katie in a barn and having a baby by herself.  We quickly learn that Katie is an unwed Amish girl which kicks the story into speed really fast.  Throughout the story, you’re questioning whether or not Katie killed her baby and is just playing up the “Amish are simple people therefore could not possibly be lying” card.  Other than finding Katie annoying (again, probably heavily due to the audiobook) I found the whole “ghost of her dead sister” irrelevant to the story and perhaps just an overused filler.  I understand that the ghost had relevance in demonstrating Katie’s belief in the afterlife/paranormal which builds the basis of her friendship with the non-Amish character of Adam Sinclair, but I still think the amount of references to ghosts was overkill.  I don’t want to give too much away here because this is one of those books that throws you in a million different directions to keep you guessing (and second-guessing) what the plain truth is.

I’m not convinced this is one of Picoult’s best novels but a page-turner nonetheless!

 

Leave a Reply

