Yes, My Accent Is Real – Kunal Nayyar

I’m a huge fan of the Big Bang Theory so of course when I saw this bad boy in the library, I knew I had to pick it up!  I started reading it and found myself hearing Kunal’s voice in my head as I read.  I then also managed to find the audiobook version of this biography and it was narrated by Kunal Nayyar himself!  SCORE!!  I’ve got to say, I really enjoyed the audiobook – it felt like I was just having a conversation (albeit one-way) with him!
 
Nayyar makes it clear from the outset that this book IS NOT a memoir but a collection of stories and experiences from his life.  These stories provide us with a glimpse into Nayyar’s life as he sought to “make it in America”.  I originally thought that the focus of his book would be heavily on landing his role on Big Bang Theory but was pleasantly surprised to see that the book was moreso about Nayyar as a person – how he became who he is (outside of his role as Raj) and the values he held dear to his heart as he transitioned into the American way of living.
 
I was touched to see how close he and his father were and how through his lonely times in America, he would often recall things his father used to say in order to get him through.  The book explores all types of experiences – funny, sad, unbelievable, embarrassing and nail-biting (especially when you learn his experience trying out for and eventually getting the role of Raj!).  Overall, I think the book was a light and easy to get through and will have you LOLing for the majority of it!  If you can get your hands on the audiobook, I’d highly recommend that!

 

Leave a Reply

