Behind Closed Doors – B.A. Paris

I don’t even know where to start with this book!  I simply couldn’t put this one down – what a page-turner!

This story follows newlyweds Grace and Jack Angel who, on the surface, seem to have it all.   They’re perfect … or perhaps a bit too perfect.  Jack is in love with his wife and dotes on her by taking her on luxurious travels, buying their beautiful mansion-like home, and being the most understanding spouse when it comes to Grace’s sister who has down syndrome.  Jack is an all-round great guy – I mean he’s a lawyer that defends battered women for a living!  Can he do anything wrong?  But not all is as it seems.  Behind closed doors (see what I did there?), Jack is a psychopath and has built what seems like a jail cell in their home where he keeps Grace in confinement to basically starve until he returns home.  Even when they have guests home, although Grace leaves the jail cell, she’s still under the hawk-eye watch of Jack who monitors her every move.

Jack is a sadistic freak who takes pleasure in torture.  This is not a 50 Shades of Grey kind of torture – I’m talking about pleasure in committing murder and Grace’s sister is the next on his list!  This book will take you on a rollercoaster ride as you follow the struggles Grace faces in her deceitful life with Jack and are left on the edge of your seat as she tries to plot ways to escape!

2016-12-22-01-50-39-1.jpg

Zi’s Reads: Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

I read this book while vacationing in Mexico and I’m so glad I read it then because I just couldn’t put it down!  If I had to read this book in bits and pieces like I usually do at home I probably would have had to call in sick or something to finish it off and find out what happens next!

This book really keeps you on the edge of your seat and has a Gone Girl type vibe to it.  I wouldn’t compare it directly with Gone Girl in terms of story line but just that constant feeling of “oh my God, what’s going to happen next?!” was definitely there.

The story was written in first person which allows the reader to experience Grace’s captivity along with her.  We never get Jack’s point of view which I think adds to the suspense of the story because you never quite know what triggers him or what he’s going to do next.

I recommended this to my mom as well who read it in pretty much a day because she couldn’t put it down either!  I recommend this to book to anyone who wants to read a book and be at the edge of their seat the whole time!  Just be prepared to want to finish this book in one sitting!

Leave a Reply

