The Fifty Bookish Questions Tag (Part 1)

I’m hoping to expand the content on my page with much more than just reviews so here’s my very first bookish tag!  It’s a pretty intense one with 50 questions to answer so I’ve decided to split up the tag into two parts.  Don’t forget to tag me if you do this particular tag so that I can see other bookish responses 🙂

1. What was the last book you read?

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi.

2. Was it a good one?

Oh my God yes!!

3. What made it good?

It was very well written and easy to follow along.  I also enjoyed it because it was a real life story that so beautifully showed a doctor’s transition from doctor to patient.

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Without a doubt!  It’s the type of book that will make you want to hug your loved ones a little tighter.

5. How often do you read?

Pretty much everyday!  I’ll read on the bus to and from work, during lunch breaks if I can, and before bed!

6. Do you like to read?

Is it not obvious? Haha!

7.What was the last bad book you read?

I’d probably have to say Nutshell by Ian McEwan.

8. What made you dislike it?

It was too complicated for a story that really didn’t need to be.  I disliked it so much that I didn’t even finish it!  I hate not finishing books but there are so many wonderful books to read that I think I would have been more disappointed if I forced myself to plow through it.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

Not really.  I’m exploring writing with the blog, but I don’t see myself really diving into becoming a writer – I’m happier being a reader 🙂

10. Has any book every influenced you greatly?

Oh definitely! Some recent books include When Breath Becomes Air and Still Alice.  Books like The Kite Runner, A Fine Balance, and The Book of Negros were also influential to me.

11. Do you read fan fiction?

What’s that??

12. Do you write fan fiction?

Definitely not …

13. What’s your favorite book?

Oh man – this question is so hard to answer!

14. What’s your least favorite book?

I think Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – just didn’t click with me!

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

I love physical books!  I love being able to see how far I’ve gotten in a book and there’s just something about flipping through pages that is so satisfying.

16. When did you learn to read?

Probably around the age of 4 or 5.  My mom made it a point to start taking me to the library at least once a week from when I was very young.  Her love of books turned into my love of books since then!

17. What is your favorite book you had to read in school?

I’d probably pick The Diary of Anne Frank.  Although it was so sad, I read it at around the same age as Anne was so the voice of the book was just so relatable and the book also sparked my fascination in learning more about World War II.

18. What is your favorite book series?

I don’t think I’ve ever completed a series.  One series that I’ve set myself a target to complete this year is the Shopaholic series!  I figure that perhaps I can commit to completing a series that’s a bit light to get through and then venture into other book series.  I’m thinking Harry Potter might be next … but let me first get through the Shopaholic series!

19. Who is your favorite author?

This one’s a toughie!  When I was younger, Roald Dahl was always my favourite.  I don’t think there was a book of his I read that I didn’t like!  I like Sophie Kinsella for light-hearted reads and Jodi Picoult for heart and soul wrenching books!

20. What is your favorite genre?

It used to be young adult but I find that a lot of the YA reads I’ve read lately have me rolling my eyes and getting annoyed!  Most recently I’ve been enjoying crime/thrillers.

21. Who is your favorite character in a book series?

Again, I haven’t really gotten through a full series before but maybe I can provide an updated answer when I’ve worked my way through a few!

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

All the time!  That’s the magic of books – they take you away from your current world and allow you to live in a different one!

23.Which book do you wish had a sequel?

This is an oldie but Lord of the Flies!  It would be interesting to see what happened to those boys!

24. Which book do you wish DIDN’T have a sequel?

Fifty Shades of Grey.   While the first book was a salacious read, I feel like there’s only so much of a weak love story you can subject yourself to.

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

I think it really depends on what’s going on in life.  I love to read to and from work and then in the morning on the weekends when it’s nice and quiet while my husband sleeps.  If the book is absolutely amazing, I’ll find a way to sneak in some more time to read.  Generally though, a 300 page book will probably take me about a week and a half to get through.

Don’t forget to check back for the second half of this tag!!

Leave a Reply

