The Fifty Bookish Tag (Part 2)

It’s been a while since I posted the first half of this tag. Here’s the second half!!

26. Do you like when books become movies?

I think it depends on the movie.  For example, I LOVED reading The Da Vinci Code but was sorely disappointed with the move.  On the flip side, I thought that the first Hunger Games movie was well done after being an adaptation of the book.  I tend to miss the details that a book has – details that movies typically skim over in an effort to keep the length of the movie acceptable.

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

I mentioned The Da Vinci Code but I’ll give another answer as well.  I’d probably say that Alice in Wonderland was botched. I’m a HUGE Johnny Depp and Tim Burton fan but I really did not enjoy that rendition of a huge classic in my collection.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

I mentioned Hunger Games but I also thought movies like Matilda, Angela’s Ashes, and 1984 were done well.

29. Do you read newspapers?

Mmm – not really.  I hate getting ink on my fingers after reading the paper!

30.  Do you read magazines?

Not anymore – I used to regularly read Look but it’s been a while since I picked up a copy of anything.  I think the last magazines I flipped through were wedding related when I was planning my wedding!

31. Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

Although I hate ink on my fingers, if I’m looking to read to keep current, then I’d pick a newspaper over a magazine.  Magazines would be more for culture, beauty, and lifestyle type reads.

32. Do you read while in bed?

I do!  But I have to be sitting up otherwise I’ll fall asleep a few minutes into my book!

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

I’ll flip through a magazine to pass the time lol.

34. Do you read while in the car?

Not typically – I’m more of a carpool karaoke kind of passenger!

35. Do you read while in the bath?

I’m not a huge bath person so I can’t say I do this.

36. Are you a fast reader?

I don’t think I’m particularly faster. I think my speed has a lot to do with the book itself. If it keeps my interest, I find I’ll fly through the pages whereas if it’s a heavier (or more boring – not necessarily one in the same!) read, I’ll find my pace slows down.

37. Are you a slow reader?

See above!

38. Where is your favorite place to read?

Curled up on my couch (with a piping hot cup of tea and a lit candle)!

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

It depends on where I’m reading. If I’m on the couch and my husband is watching TV (quietly) I can keep my concentration.  There are of course times he’s engrossed in sports where he can become more vocal and feel the need to show me replays – those are the days I find it hard to concentrate!  In terms of being able to concentrate in public, I’m generally good on a bus or a coffee shop and don’t lose my concentration but if I’m reading in a food court for example, I probably will end up reading the same line over and over again!

40.Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

I do enjoy silent reading, but it’s not a requirement.  A bit of white noise doesn’t bug me.

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

Hands down my mom!

42. What book is next on your list to read?

The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck by Sarah Knight!

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

I think maybe the age of 6 or 7. Reading came to me very easily and I found that I could read longer books from quite a young age.

44. Who is your favorite children’s book author?

Roald Dahl.

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

Roald Dahl, Sophie Kinsella, or Jodi Picoult.

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

Probably Sophie Kinsella.

47.What book have you re-read the most?

That’s tough … I can’t think of a single book but I can safely say I’ve re-read books by Enid Blyton at least a million times!  I loved the Noddy books and the Malory Towers books.

48. Which books do you consider “classics”?

Lord of the Flies, 1984, To Kill a Mockingbird …

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

I don’t think it matters – I think the concept of reading should be taught at school. I find that there are so many books that can appeal to all different types of people but when we’re forced to read books that we don’t resonate with or don’t like, that can put you off reading. Schools should really just focus on getting students to read – whatever they wish – just foster an environment that allows people to connect with books in their own way.

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

I don’t think books should be banned from schools unless they aren’t age-appropriate. Books tell a story about the world and they help to open people’s eyes to the world. Books are wonderful things and they should be enjoyed by all.

Phew!!  50 questions done over two long posts!! I’m going to leave this open to anyone who wants to complete because it is so long and takes a fair bit of time!  Don’t forget to tag me if you decide to do this tag!

2 thoughts on “The Fifty Bookish Tag (Part 2)

  1. Kraig says:

    First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask
    if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior
    to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted
    just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?

    Kudos! https://en.Wikipedia.org/wiki/Gran_Canaria/074/2

    Like

    • zisreads says:

      Hi Kraig! Thank you so much for your feedback!

      As a relatively new blogger, I still struggle with getting centred and ready to write. I have found a huge difference in the quality of my blogs when I write when I’m inspired to rather than forcing myself to write as soon as I finish my blog. I find that I have the most clarity first thing in the morning on the weekends so I’ve been making use of that time to churn out my posts. Another thing that I found is very helpful is for me to just write (think of it as a stream of consciousness) where I don’t edit a thing and just keep writing. As I go into the post later on to edit it, I find that my initial thoughts that I thought were a waste actually were better than I thought. I think that as long as the 10-15 minutes in the beginning are not serving as a deterrent to you actually completing a post, then I don’t think those minutes are wasted 🙂 I hope that helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

