April 2017 Wrap Up!

My first monthly TBR has come to an end!  I didn’t get through every book but I’m still proud of my progress!  Here’s a reminder of what I had in store for my April TBR.  Overall, I think I did well in terms of the number of books I got through.  Unfortunately there was a book I didn’t get to because something I had placed on hold at the library came in.

It’s a double-edged sword when I get an email from the library letting me know that I have holds ready for pick up.  On one hand, I get super excited to finally sink my teeth into something I’ve wanted to read, but on the other hand, it means I have to push some books back to accommodate having to read the holds within a certain period of time.  That’s what happened with a book I’ve been excited to read since I heard it was being written – Lilly Singh’s book How To Be A Bawse.  I pre-ordered this book back in August 2016 but since it’s mine for the keeping, I’m hoping to be able to get to it in May! So what was the book that pushed this highly-anticipated book to the next month?  It was a novel by debut author, Corrie Wang, called Takedown.

I’ve hyperlinked the titles of the books that I have reviewed so far so check those out for a more detailed look at why I liked (or could have skipped) the book!  For those that don’t yet have a review complete, I’ll be sure to link them as soon as they’re ready!


What I Enjoyed:

I really enjoyed Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult and The Takedown by Corrie Wang.  I couldn’t put either of them down!  Small Great Things married the themes of race, prejudice, death, and privilege.  The Takedown explored cyberbullying and how social media can literally destroy someone so easily.  I’ll be sure to link my review on The Takedown as soon as I finish it!

What I Could Have Skipped

I wish I could love every book I read, but alas, there are some that give you high expectations and then sadly just fall flat.  Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget (“Blackout”) by Sarah Hepola and The Hidden Life of Otto Frank were two of those books for me.  Blackout explored the cyclical ups and downs of alcohol addiction.  The Hidden Life of Otto Frank was the story of the father of the infamous Anne Frank and described how the Frank family got caught in hiding by the Germans during World War 2.

I’ll have my May TBR list up soon so be sure to check back to see what’s in store for May!

 

Leave a Reply

