Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget – Sarah Hepola

I had read many reviews on Goodreads about Blackout:  Remembering the Things I Drank To Forget by Sarah Hepola.  I found the concept of the book interesting – it was basically about the author’s dependence on alcohol throughout her life and coming to the realization (many times) that she has ultimately become dependent on alcohol to get her through life.  I finished the book but there were many points where I wanted to just put the book down and pick up something else.  I felt that the story dragged on.  It’s hard to not like a book that is based on someone’s experience and I do not want to make light of or negate the experiences Hepola went through. While I understand that someone with an addiction will go through many periods of realization before they are able to get a handle on it (or even realize that they have a problem with addiction), I just didn’t enjoy the book enough to recommend it.  The book was well written and Hepola’s experiences were relayed in a non-pitying manner but the ups and downs she experienced got very repetitive and I just couldn’t connect with her.

Zi's Reads: Blackout by Sarah Hepola

Zi’s Reads: Blackout by Sarah Hepola

There were some moments that Hepola tried to bring some humour to writing but I almost felt bad for laughing given how serious addiction is.  Drinking to the point of blackout and landing in bed with random people is hardly something to make light of.  After reading this book, I hit up Youtube to watch some of Hepola’s interviews and hearing her story in her voice made me feel a bit different (perhaps because it was a condensed version!).  Although, I wonder if I listening to the audiobook would have changed my thoughts on the book.

Overall, even though the topic of the book was interesting, this was unfortunately a thumbs down from me due to the repetition of events.

Leave a Reply

