A Message to my Mom on Mother’s Day!

Mother's Day - BlogTomorrow, we celebrate our mothers on their special day.  We often hear people say “Mother’s day should be everyday” and “why do we need a special day to acknowledge our moms when we should be doing that everyday?”.  Well, why do we have birthdays then? We should be treated (and be treating people) that special each and every day if we truly love and care for them, right?  Sometimes, we lose sight of what’s important to us so why not take a day to centre ourselves and appreciate that queen we call ‘mom’?  While I agree appreciation for our mothers should be something we do every single day, I think it’s important to dedicate a day where we make our moms feel extra special.  I don’t even need to mention how important mothers are – we all are here because of them and they deserve all the love that our bodies, minds, and souls are able to give … and then some!

I am extremely close to my mom.  Being an only child, I’ve been lucky enough to have all of her love and attention all of my life *insert only child syndrome comment/joke here lol*. I’m not going to lie, there’s a lot of pressure on both ends of that – my mom has one shot to prove to herself that she can be a great mom and I have one shot to prove that she is!  I was never a rebellious child but there were times where I felt she was too tough on me when I was a teenager, but I think that’s normal. I don’t think you see eye to eye with ANYONE at that point in your life.  Once I got over that idiotic phase, I started to see what a gem my mom really was and how lucky I am to have her.  My mom has played so many roles in my life – she’s obviously my mom but she’s also like the sister I never I had and I can honestly say that she’s my best friend.

My mom has been a single mom since I was 10. The trials and tribulations we went through during a time where we both had to adjust to a completely different life drove my mom into super-mom-mode (something I realized much later).  She felt she needed to draw strength and courage from somewhere to adapt and to make sure I didn’t feel the void of having an nontraditional family unit. I was blessed to have my mom and my grandma take such powerful roles that I can say with extreme certainty that I never felt any void. In fact, my life was enriched in ways I can’t describe. Being raised by two strong women played a crucial part in my outlook on life and affirmed to me that anything can be done if you feel strong enough about it.

There are times where even today my mom shares her insecurities of not having done enough for me – I don’t even know how to answer that. What hasn’t she done for me? She’s sacrificed her whole life to ensure mine was comfortable and fulfilled.  She (and my grandma) raised me with a heart that overflowed with love for me – love that has gotten me through everything I’ve experienced in my life. What more could I want or need?

So, to my mom on this mother’s day I say: Mumma, you’ve done more for me than you can ever know!  If I could relive my life, I would only do it again knowing that you would be my mom. Thank you for everything you’ve done for me – whether you know it or not, you are the reason I am who I am today; you are my strength, my weakness, and are always the one I turn to when anything is going right or wrong. Thank you for constantly pushing me and making me believe that I can achieve anything I put my mind to. It is because of you that I know what perseverance, hard work, and courage look like.  Thank you for your all-curing hugs and words of reassurance that have gotten me through so much like illness, heartbreak, and failure.  I would have you no other way.  If ever you wonder whether you’ve done enough, I’m telling you today, you’ve done more than enough and have fulfilled your role as mother to perfection.  My love for you knows no bounds. 

To everyone else, make sure your mom is treated like a queen every single day but make her feel a little more special on Mother’s day because she deserves it!

What will you be doing this Mother’s day?

 

Leave a Reply

